Miley, Miley, Miley…….


Well, I did not watch the VMAs this weekend. But as soon as I logged in to Facebook Monday morning, I knew that something had happened, as every other post was along the lines of [and I did ask people if I could quote them anonymously] “OMG MILEY CYRUS WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?!?!?!?!?!” “TRASHY DISGUSTING HOE BAG” “Slut who degrades herself and lowers the standards for every other woman. Sadly, this is what men want.” “I think it is sad that she feels that is all she has to offer, where the hell did she lose her self-respect, her self-esteem, and her personality?”{Those last two are personal favorites}
mil
I found and clicked the video link, and was absolutely appalled. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I used to watch Hannah Montana with my younger cousins. This couldn’t possibly be Miley Cyrus! To my abject horror, it was.
This, I believe, just shows how the extreme oversexualization of women is expected in society. However, I do think there is a difference between the sexualization part (say, for example, a music video with scantily-clad women) and the degrading, demeaning, and honestly vile behavior that Miley showed. She is the same age as me, and that in itself is terrifying. Between the barely there outfit and the foam finger pointing towards—- well, you know, she objectified herself, and it’s just— eugh.
Is this what our society has come to? Showing young girls that dancing like a stripper and wearing close to nothing is the way to fame and popularity?
I don’t get it. I just don’t get it.

2 thoughts on “Miley, Miley, Miley…….

  1. I too missed what Miley did but my Facebook feed luckily happened to fill me in.. I think it in fact is still filling me in. I can’t believe what she did, I actually finally watched some of the clips today. I am just shocked. SO many young girls look up to her. After all doesn’t she have a show on Disney or didn’t she? I think she is going to have the next celeb break down it really is sad! 😦

  2. The media objectifies women and the are seen as subservient, created for the pleasure and misuse of men. So what is Miley doing that the media has not asked for?

Leave a Reply

